“Lily and the Octopus” by Steven Rowley

★★★★★ OUT TOMORROW! Go get this. Now! (Buy on Amazon)

71yA6Fa--wLKeeping with past trends, I tend to have the hardest time writing reviews for books that I absolutely love. This is one of those. I read this book over 2 months ago and have been unable to put into words what I feel about it.

Lily (a dachshund) and Ted (a man) are the best of friends and do everything together. Lily is quite the character and is, typical to dog personality, excited about pretty much everything. SHE! SPEAKS! IN! EXCLAMATIONS!

One day, Ted is horrified to find that an octopus (read: tumor) has taken residence on Lily’s head. This is no ordinary octopus though — it has a personality too, and it’s trying to take Lily away from Ted. But Ted’s not going to let Lily go without a fight.

The story takes the reader through Lily’s decline in health and Ted’s journey to fight the octopus. He goes through an emotional and sometimes insane journey to finally accept that the Octopus may win. This book *will* make you cry, especially if you currently have a pet or have lost a pet.

Emotional and heartbreaking (and somehow heartwarming at the same time), LILY AND THE OCTOPUS is a must-read for 2016. This is already on my list of the top books of 2016. Put everything else down and pick this up immediately.

Immediately upon finishing this book I tweeted to Steven Rowley. That’s how awesome it was!

Purchase the book here.

I won this book through Goodreads First Reads. This does not affect my opinion of the book.

Leave a comment