“Baby Doll” by Hollie Overton

27415371.jpg★★★★☆ — New release Tuesday!

When I was at BEA, one of the people in the Hachette booth looked at me and said, “This is like Room, but darker.” And I was in. I was so in.

Lily was kidnapped eight years ago. Since then, she has endured serious torture, sexual abuse, and a pregnancy. But then one day, her kidnapper forgets to lock the door. And Baby Doll runs, runs, runs all the way home.

To spoil anything in this book would be a crime. So I will quote what the synopsis says, “This is what happens next…to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter…and to her captor.”

This book is dark, scary, sad, and twisty. Much like Room, it captures the escape from the kidnapper and the hard adjustment after the horror. But on a different (and in my opinion, better) note, Baby Doll is told from multiple different viewpoints, instead of just the child’s. This brings in different feelings, different perspectives, and I think that makes the story more impactful.

Purchase the book here.

Thank you to the publisher for giving me a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

Leave a Reply

