“Dark Matter” by Blake Crouch

★★★★☆ New release Tuesday!

Dark Matter hooked me from the first page. I had been highly anticipating this title for a while and was excited to meet Blake Crouch at BEA and have my book signed. But boy, was I in for a ride! I devoured this book in 4 hours. Didn’t move, didn’t think about anything else.

IMG_8875.jpg
Look how happy I am. I’ve only been stalking the Penguin booth for 2 days waiting for this!

Jason Dessen was on his way to becoming a world-renowned scientist, and his girlfriend Daniela was an up-and-coming artist. But when Daniela finds out she is pregnant, both she and Jason decide to put their careers aside to have a family. They are both happy with their home, their son, Charlie, and their simple lives.

One day after walking home from the grocery store, Jason is kidnapped at gun-point by a man in a mask. He is forced to strip and go into an abandoned warehouse where he is drugged and passes out. When he wakes up on a gurney, surrounded by people he doesn’t know who are congratulating him on a job well done, he knows something bad has happened.

I don’t want to spoil anything for you, because you need to go read this for yourselves. It’s a sci-fi thriller, but it was just within the realms of my grasp, science-wise. Dark Matter is just near impossible to put down — you need to know what happens to Jason. Why is the world different after his kidnapping? Was his life all a dream? You can speculate and speculate on what is going on, and I’m 99% sure you wouldn’t guess all the twists in this book. JUST STOP READING THIS REVIEW AND GO READ IT ALREADY!

Purchase the book here.

I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

One thought on ““Dark Matter” by Blake Crouch

  1. Pingback: July Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

