“Luckiest Girl Alive” by Jessica Knoll

★★★☆☆

Luckiest Girl AliveOne thing I strive for on this blog is to provide reviews for books that I recommend. For this reason, you’ll notice that I don’t feature books that I did not enjoy or that I rated low. (If interested in what those are, please feel free to follow me on Goodreads. I post all of my reviews there.) With that being said, this book was a challenge for me.

Luckiest Girl Alive has been promoted as the next Gone Girl – I think this is a stretch. I gave this book 3 stars because I did feel compelled to finish it, but it almost didn’t get that third star.

Ani is a sex columnist for a popular fashion magazine in New York. She is engaged to the “perfect” guy, has a great career, and doesn’t let anyone get one up on her. I found her to be an unlikeable character – very fake and self-centered in her thoughts, interactions, and life choices. She is also a very pitiable character due to the hardships in her life, which you learn about through the story.

Ani has a trip planned soon to her hometown to appear in a documentary about a local tragedy. She’s nervous about it, but she is planning on using it to show the world and all those who pity her how she has come through and been successful despite the tragedy.

Though I did not like Ani (or most of the characters, for that matter), the story kept me engaged. I really wanted to know what the documentary was about. There is a sense that you aren’t getting all of the information at once – and the payoff is good.

Overall, this was a good read. It was hard to sympathize with some of the characters, but when the whole story shines through, you’ll not regret reading this book.

Purchase the book here.

Thank you to the publisher for providing me a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

Leave a Reply

